From Docstream to Prostream: what is different?

Geschreven door:

Dani Lameris, January 10, 2023

Prostream is the result of 20 years of working with 85,000 project managers, planners and supervisors in the construction industry. Document management has always played a central role in this. It is the backbone to which all other processes, such as quality management, workflows and BIM, connect.

Yet Prostream is not a ready-made copy of Docstream. Some things work slightly different. The main reason for this is that we have developed Prostream in a future-proof manner. So, if you are used to working in Docstream, it might take some getting used to when you open Prostream for the first time. In this article, we give an overview of the most important changes you need to know to get started quickly.

1. A fresh layer of paint

The avid Docstream user who opens Prostream sees it immediately: it looks very different. The basis has remained the same; you still work in the well-known folder structure, you always work with the most recent documents through the version management window at the bottom and only people with the correct permissions can access certain folders. On top of that well-known basis, we have added a number of features, which we will discuss in more detail in the following points.

2. Sharing documents is a little different

A good example of something that works slightly different is how to share documents with colleagues and external parties. Now, the Share button is the way to easily provide your colleagues with information instead of sending them a message. You can still add a message for the recipient, so that the context is also clear.

You can also still generate a document link. You can provide this link with a password and an expiration date.

3. Communicate further about a document

Would you like to communicate about a specific document? This can be done via the Comments tab for a specific document. There you can type messages (with extra formatting), tag colleagues and externals with an @ and even upload files as comments. This way, the correspondence about each document remains secured in one place.

4. Check out the preview in one click

First download a document, save it somewhere, can’t find it, then have many different versions of that document on your computer and completely lose the overview. That is a thing of the past in Prostream. With just one click on the preview button you can quickly view (the latest version of) a document and continue with your work.

5. Work directly in pdfs

In addition to the preview button, there is another function that allows you to start working with PDFs right away. Not only can you place messages directly on a PDF in the PDF viewer and draw on them to clarify matters, you can also superimpose two different drawings. Prostream will then immediately indicate what the differences are.

6. BIM viewer

Another new feature in Prostream is the option to quickly view a BIM model. Thanks to an integrated browser by Autodesk, all the benefits of BIM are at your fingertips. In the viewer you can, among other things, view information about specific parts, measure distances and make cross-sections.

7. Organization vs project

Almost everything in construction is about collaboration. And that is exactly what Prostream is designed to do. Because you never work with people in the same situation, a distinction has been made between the organization you work in and the projects you are involved in. Is the bar on the left dark purple? Then you work in your organization and you can share everything with your direct colleagues. Is the bar on the left light purple? Then you are in a specific project, where you can also work with external parties and project-specific files. Keeping the overview has never been this easy.

Organization level

Project level

8. Therefore, permissions work a bit different as well

This point is mainly relevant to Administrators.

Perhaps the most important function in a DMS is regulating permissions: who has access to which folder? Can that person also modify, approve, freeze and delete things, or just view documents? In the Users and groups tab, you can arrange the preferences that suit your company by simply checking or unchecking a box.